20 Things I’ve Learnt in 20 Years

As of 5 days ago, I am no longer a teenager and have officially started my 20s! I’ve been seeing a lot of people on Youtube and in Blogs doing the ‘things I’ve learnt in however many years I’ve been alive’ so I thought I’d sit down and reflect on what I’ve learnt in 20 years. These are in no particular order, just what came to my head first.

#1 I shouldn’t be afraid to leave a friendship group if I’m unhappy there. Doing this is how I met my best friend, Elise.

#2 Grocery shopping while hungry will lose me money.

#3 I don’t need to be drunk to have a good time.

#4 If I don’t like something I can change it. Be it hairstyle, a nail polish, a friendship, a situation etc. Nothing has to be permanent.

#5 Don’t compare yourself to others, use past you as a benchmark.

#6 Don’t forget about having hobbies! I made this mistake by letting uni, work and my relationships take over my life. Now that I am getting back to my hobbies and creating new ones I’m learning more about myself and am a lot happier.

#7 In a relationship, address any red flags; communicate! I didn’t do this in my first relationship and it felt horrible holding it in. In my current relationship, I made an extra effort to speak up when I felt something was wrong and even though I was nervous about it, it was the best thing for the relationship.

#8 Blood relations aren’t the only family I can have. I have an incredible step-mum and see her family as my own and her support is just amazing. My best friends mum also treats me like her own and I know that’s something that won’t ever change.

#9 Admit mistakes and forgive yourself. This took me a while to fully accept and even now I still slip up. But where I can, I need to admit my mistakes and learn from them.

#10 Save things that make me laugh. I keep photos and video links that make me laugh uncontrollably. Sometimes I just go through and giggle.

#11 Kill mean people with kindness. Don’t stoop down to their level and be the better person. It’s hard, especially when they are a bitch to your face but if you don’t insult them back you can walk away knowing you didn’t give them the satisfaction.

#12 Timing is actually a big deal in relationships. Seriously, sometimes patience is worth it. I waited three years for Declan and now we live together so…

#13 Make an effort to do things on my own. I go to movies alone sometimes or go out for lunch alone and it feels so good doing things only for me and getting comfortable in my own company.

#14 Accept compliments and give them back. Say ‘thank you’!

#15 Call out sexism and educate yourself.

#16 Presents don’t have to be physical, sometimes it can be an experience. I’ve taken friends to theatre shows and I’ve been taken to concerts as gifts and honestly the memories I have are just the best.

#17 Focus on the positives in a situation. There will always be at least one.

#18 Letting myself cry from time to time is healthy. Even if it means watching a super sad film just to help me let go of tension.

#19 I’ve learnt how to get rejected. From jobs, casting directors, people, etc. Learn to take a no without thinking you are at fault. Sometimes it’s just not meant to be.

#20 My dad gives the best hugs. Seriously, if I’m ever down his hugs are the safest place to me and living away from home has made me appreciate them so much more.

Hope you enjoyed this little post.

Cheers,
A4Paige

One thought on “20 Things I’ve Learnt in 20 Years

  1. One gem is to be happy when someone learns from your wisdom. If they don’t listen there is still the chance to learn and don’t get frustrated simply realise you probably did the same. So be happy if either way they learn.

    Like

Leave a Reply

